Anticipation

18 May
Julie & Julia trailer

Julie & Julia trailer

While I didn’t exactly make it to the movies this weekend, I did manage to watch quite a few previews. Some looked good to me – though some of those choices may not be blockbusters. I’ll see soon enough.

One movie that does look fantastic is Nora Ephron’s “Julie & Julia”. I’m in love with the trailer – especially the interaction between Paul (Stanley Tucci) and Julia (Meryl Streep)

PC: “What is it that you really like to do?”

JC: “Eat!”

PC: “And you are so good at it!”

JC: “I know!”

But I’m more enthralled with the character (or real life person, as it were) of Julie, played by Amy Adams. She’s trying to find something better in life, as opposed to being a lowly cubicle worker, so she decides to cook every single recipe from Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking – 524 recpies!

I’m interested in Julie Powell for three reasons. First: I believe her kitchen would have been about the size of mine and that gives me hope; I am a decent cook – when I take the time to go to the grocery store – and my mother did recently acquire Childs tome. Maybe I can learn to grocery shop. And to better use the things in my kitchen. Maybe.

Second: She decided to write (and subsequently kept up with) a blog. Again. Hope.

Third: She decided to do all of this to engage herself from her lack-luster life. Hope springs eternal.

So what does this all mean? Well, I can keep blogging and hope that, at some point, Nora Ephron decides to adapt my blog for the second ever movie based on a blog – which might negate the plastic fast … Or, I can keep chugging away – on my own!!! sans Hollywood – at My Plastic Fast (no more polos, you hear me Karma?) and eventually, move on to my very own bigger and better.

Chug chug chug chug chug chug chug chug …

