Honestly

26 Aug

HonestTeaCoffee hangovers are no fun. Or, at least, so I am told. Sunday mornings, when my mom and I cook instead of going out for breakfast, she will inevitably mention that we forgot to stop and get a cup of coffee for me. Verbatim, every time:

Her: Oh! We forgot to stop and get you a cup of coffee.

Me: It’s alright.

Her: You’ll have a caffeine headache at work!

Me: No, I won’t.

Her: Yes you will.

Me: Mom, I tell you this every time – I don’t drink coffee everyday. I won’t get a headache.

Her: *with that sing songy mom-tone* Alright, then …….

Well, today I had a coffee break and consumed three cups of coffee, with lots of cream of course, and I now feel worse than I did, pre-coffee – like a bore is going through my forehead.

I think I cut way back on the coffee when Allison couldn’t have it during the early part of her pregnancy, but now that she can have a little decaf, I have a little regular, too. And I feel blah.

Tuesdays I have an Honest Tea – Black, no sugar, no kidding – when I leave the gym. They have an interesting flat taste because they’re just tea and I’m starting to like it more and more. But the part I love the most are the interesting quotes that are under the lid. Yesterday, the Churchill quote seemed right on point for me. But my favorite thus far was last Tuesday, pre-foot burn.

“We must be willing to let go of the life we’ve planned to have the life that is waiting for us.” – E.M. Forster

I keep thinking about that. It’s essentially the same quote as the ever popular “Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans.” Or something like that – I might have it slightly wrong, but you get the idea.

So while I’m making plans to do great things with my life and nothing seems to be happening, i’m finding that my Mom is an even bigger role model for me. She’s just started her grad school classes on Monday and, at *cough cough* years of age, she’s changing her entire plan for the rest of her life. And it seems to be working. I don’t know if it’s acceptance, faulty plans or quotes on the bottom of tea lids, but I’ve been learning a lot (the past week in particular) that I’m not really sure where my life is heading but I’m ok with that because it all seems to come out right in the end.

And sometimes, as my Mom is finding out, the end can be further away than you think because it is possible to have the middle suddenly become the start.

