Gloomy Pittsburgh

13 Dec

Pittsburgh is so gloomy today and I’m finding it mimics my mood too much for my liking.

This morning did not go as planned thanks to the freezing rain that fell all night long. I almost fell on the way to church but somehow turned it into a sidewalk skate. My boots don’t really have all that much traction on the bottoms, but I guess they were smooth enough to give me temporary grace ; )

I went grocery shopping after church and got clementines, as well as all the ingredients for homemade tomato soup – I’ll post pictures later when I make it tonight. I’ve been feeling really domestic lately and I’m pretty sure it has nothing to do with my Mom’s influence, but at least she’s happy to see the change.

But all these good things that happened after scratching my original plan seem to have no meaning after a short lived phone call from a friends mother. I’ve been trying to connect with my friend “Gibbler” for almost a year via email and voice mail to no avail. (That’s a lot of ail)

She has a 20 month old daughter, so I understand her time is more precious than it used to be, but I haven’t spoke with her in a year and I feel very left out, very left behind.

Well Gibblers mother called to confirm my own mothers’ address for a Christmas card and I asked how everyone was – since I never get Gibbler on the phone, I figured that this would be a good update. Turns out Gibbler is 3 months pregnant with her second child.

… … … … … …

… … … …

Don’t get me wrong, I’m very happy for her and her expanding family. But that one sentence, that is supposed to be so glad and happy and full of cheer and life really took the wind out of my sails. We used to be close – I was MOH in her wedding – and now the most I hear from her is an auto reply from her email saying she’s out of the office.

Living in different states, I used to expect only random phone calls – the kind where we would talk for an hour and it would be as if no time had lapsed. But now I don’t even warrant a return email.

To me, it seems that guys get married and have families and somehow they’re still able to maintain friends outside their houses. I feel as if all the women I know – with one exception – get married and have kids and completely forget their friends. Why is that? Isn’t the cliché “it takes a village to raise a child” indicative of keeping your friends close?

Home life is fulfilling, I’m sure, and I live no where near Gibbler to know whether or not she keeps friends outside her house and her hubs, but I feel so gloomy after that phone call I just want to get in my car and go home for the night.

And wake up tomorrow to see the freezing rain turned into snow overnight.

