Oh, Letterpress

13 Jan

I finally got all of my Thank You cards for Christmas written and sent. Phew! I found an awesome box of r-nichols cards at TJ Maxx (no surprise there) last year in the clearance bin and, though the picture at the right is not the cards I sent out (they don’t have a picture on their site of those that I sent and my camera is crap) the picture is of a current card called “The Climbers” that I think is hilarious.

Cut paper cards are a lot of fun to make and, though mine are no where near as cute or adorable or precise as r-nichols, I still have fun making them. I just never have the time. Hence, clearance bin.

With all the design I do for Joe Appel Photography, I have found myself feeling a bit more creative and interested in do-it-yourself projects. I handed out very pretty, very little packages to my family this Christmas – tight budget this year due to impending grad school applications – complete with homemade bows. Target had awesome velour-ish wrapping paper on clearance the week before Christmas. I think everyone liked the paper more than their gifts – mostly candles. Oh well!

The I Do It Yourself website has a lot of ideas on how to make your own – almost – everything. And I’m kind of bummed I didn’t find the website until after Thanksgiving because of a contest they had for this home Letterpress. All the cool homemade cards and papers I could make with this thing would save me – well, probably not much because once I got it home, I’m sure I’d order plates by the dozen, paper by the ream and inks by the gallon – but it would be so cool to have one of these in my craft drawers keeping my Exacto company!

