919 days to go

24 Jan

For kicks and giggles, I figured out how many days until I turn 30. I don’t know why I felt the need to know this – but I did – and in doing so was quite surprised. I was thinking I’d have around 1,000 days left – though if I had paused only a second I would have realized that math couldn’t possibly be correct, as I’ve already turned 27.

I’ve got 919 days to go and, well, today really is pretty much over. 918 days left; I think I need to re-examine my priorities.

  • I’m not out of the debt I set to eliminate last February, though I am a lot further along than I thought I would be at this date – happy dance!
  • I’m still renting. Grrrrr.
  • I’m still unsure of what I want to be. Period. I can’t add “when I grow up” to the end of that sentence because, at this point, it’s knocking my maturity, which I think is one of the best things that I have going for me. But for purposes of grad school, it’s quite important to actually decide what I would like to be. MFA. MBA. PhD. MD. UGH.

I looked into med school and have found out the following:

  • One year of Pitt Med School costs a whopping $58,145 – and that’s if you live in state. Now I understand why my parents said State School Only!
  • I need more Math and Science courses before anything can happen.
  • Those basic courses could take me 2 years – 730 days.
  • With the cost of education going up, $58k will be a bargain in 2 years.

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a doctor, but as I grew up I let little things deter me on my path to med school. I even seriously attempted pre-med in college. So what the heck do I do now that I’m six years into a career path, with ongoing education and an MFA at stake, but start to ponder a life change? This can’t be mid-life crisis. I want to live longer than 60, erm, 54.

I know it wouldn’t be easy. I know it wouldn’t be cheap. Hell, I don’t even know what it would really and truly entail in its entirety. But I do know that I’ve got to figure this out and fast. 919 days is a lot of time, but it’s also really not.

